Trail ReportsTech ArticlesVideo GalleryHOME

Jan 31, 2010

SUPERCROSS 2010, Round 4, San Francisco

Another exciting installment of the 2010 AMA Monster Supercross Series! With Ryan Dungey(#5) on top of the points lead, he planned on putting more distance the other riders today. Dungey came out strong in his heat race, but had a rare crash coming off a jump and hitting a barrier. He was able to gather himself, right his bike, and get back on the track quickly however finishing in the top of the pack to secure a place in the main event. Dungey got the hole shot in the main and immediately started to add distance, running away with the lead with Josh Hill in second and Ryan Villopoto(#2) in third. About halfway through lap ten, on the same jump that he wrecked on before, Dungey cross rutted and sent the bike nose high into the air off the jump. With the bike out in front of him, he landed hard on both legs on the ground. Amazingly, he was able to jump up and get back on his way without loosing the lead! Unfortunately the clutch lever on the bike got twisted around the back on the crash making for an awkward reach. He was passed by Hill, Villopotto, then Millsaps, but was able to finish 4th to salvage his points lead for the series. Villopotto got his first win of the season and made up some distance in the points. With James Stewart out with a broken wrist and Reed still out with a broken hand the young guns are taking advantage. This type of crash may well be a testament to the Nike 6.0 Boots, it seems as though Dungey escaped injury free.

This video shows the wreck, pretty lucky to escape without injury. It seems as though he did a good job of rolling with the hit to disperse the energy.

Supercross Results:.

1. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2. Josh Hill, Yamaha
3. Davi Millsaps, Honda
4. Ryan Dungey, Suzuki
5. Andrew Short, Honda
6. Justin Brayton, Yamaha
7. Ivan Tedesco, Yamaha
8. Nick Wey, Kawasaki
9. Tommy Hahn, Suzuki
10. Michael Byrne, Yamaha
11. Kevin Windham, Honda
12. Kyle Chisholm, Yamaha
13. Jason Thomas, Suzuki
14. Cyrille Coulon, Kawasaki
15. Fabien Izoird, Kawasaki
16. Chris Blose, Honda
17. Manuel Rivas, Kawasaki
18. Jesse Casillas, Kawasaki
19. Jarred Browne, Kawasaki
20. Kyle Partridge, Kawasaki

Supercross Overall Standings:

1. Ryan Dungey, 90
2. Josh Hill, 79
3. Ryan Villopoto, 77
4. Andrew Short, 68
5. Kevin Windham, 61
6. Davi Millsaps, 57
7. Ivan Tedesco, 57
8. Justin Brayton, 56
9. James Stewart, 51
10. Tommy Hahn, 42


  1. Absolutly incredible what they do with their bikes.

  2. So true, should be a nice installment this weekend..I think on CBS Sunday morning.

  3. hmm thats very great show, I really like what they do with their vehicle,,